Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


INTERVIEW: The Boo Radleys’ Sice Talks Album EIGHT and Retracing GIANT STEPS 30 Years Later

Brace yourselves for an even bigger Boo this year as alt-pop rockers The Boo Radleys have dropped their fittingly titled new studio album, ‘Eight,’ and are set to release a 30th anniversary reissue of their critically acclaimed, seminal 1993 LP, Giant Steps, on 1 September.

Hitting the ground running with ‘Eight,’ their second LP release in as many years, the revived trio are clearly making up for lost time after going MIA for well over two decades. While the bright-yet-brooding ‘Keep On With Falling’ evolved as an exploration of each member’s separate creative ideas, ‘Eight’ is a very different beast altogether, comprising songs purposely conceived to be heard together on the same album.

To celebrate the aforementioned Giant Steps re-release, The Boo Radleys have just completed a run of intimate headline shows but, if you missed out on those, don’t fret as you can still catch the band this autumn when they take to the road, sharing the bill this time with funk-rock quartet CUD.

To celebrate the band’s non-stop year, CinemaChords’ Howard Gorman caught up with frontman Simon “Sice” Rowbottom, who revealed the secret to their prolific output since reforming just a couple of years ago, what it has been like to play ‘Giant Steps’ again after 30 years, and how they’ve held onto their zest and boisterousness into their 50s.

Eight is available to buy now here.

Co-headline tour with CUD
28 Oct – Manchester Bread Shed
29 Oct – Liverpool O2 Academy2
30 Oct – Sheffield O2 Academy2
31 Oct – Birmingham O2 Institute2
2 Nov – Bristol The Fleece
3 Nov – Oxford O2 Academy2
4 Nov – London O2 Academy Islington


You May Also Like


Harnessing the energy of their UK-wide family of fans whilst bringing it all back home, DIY indie heavyweights The Reytons have today announced what...

Killer Chords

John Kramer (Tobin Bell) is back for what’s being dubbed the most disturbing instalment of the Saw franchise. Set between the events of Saw...


Singing away dark clouds in favour of silver linings. The Lathums have just dropped a brand new single, ‘Thoughts Of A Child,’ amidst a...

Box Office

The IFC Center’s new monthly Shudder programming series, “Shudder Showcase at IFC Center,” returns this October with some of Shudder’s most eagerly anticipated original...