Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Dream-Pop Quartet JAWS Drop New Single ‘Are My Friends Alright?’ in Anticipation of New EP and UK Tour

In anticipation of their forthcoming EP ‘If It Wasn’t For My Friends, Things Could Be Different’ (out 15 Sep) and a UK tour this autumn, Birmingham dream-pop quartet JAWS have today shared a brand new single ‘Are My Friends Alright?’

Marking a new departure for the band, ‘Are My Friends Alright?’ sees JAWS combine fresh, feel-good guitar melodies with fuzzier moments of introspection, grappling with both the gratitude and guilt that close friendships often engender.

Commenting on the new track, frontman Connor Schofield said,  “I think I wrote this song just before Christmas. In the second half of last year I came out of a long-term relationship and this was kind of a response to everyone that looked out for me during that time, as well as me realising that I had to be there for my friends more than I had been. It’s just a general reminder that we’d all be f***ed without our friends, so we need to check in on them.” 

Embracing evolution with fervour, the new track sees the band exploring a slightly more DIY approach than fans are used to. Cultivating a blissed-out blend of dazey dream-pop edged with a luminous twist that feels as familiar as an old friend, yet refreshingly new, Schofield went on to explain, “The whole process of making this single and the EP has been totally different to anything we’ve done before in that itself-produced. I’m lucky enough to have a room at 123 Studios in Peckham, which led to producer Brett Shaw helping us out to get a great drum sound before I finished the record off in my own space. It was a challenge, but we’re super proud of what we’ve been able to create.”

This, the first taste of new music from JAWS in over four years, is the lead single from the band’s forthcoming EP ‘If It Wasn’t For My Friends, Things Could Be Different’. Self-produced by Schofield, working in collaboration with Brett Shaw (Foals, Florence and the Machine), the band’s latest extended release was mixed and mastered by Grammy nominees Mikko Gordon and Robin Schmidt respectively.

Commenting on what we can expect from the new EP, the band said, “Since our last tour — where we all caught Covid and ended up isolating for Christmas! — JAWS have been working on a lot of new music. Choosing to go a bit more DIY than previously and putting Connor’s lockdown MA in Commercial Music Production to good use, this project is entirely self-produced and afforded us the opportunity to really capture our sound.”

To support the EP release, JAWS will take to the road for a seven-date UK tour this Autumn, kicking things off in Newcastle on 25 September before heading to the following venues.



25 NEWCASTLE The Cluny

26 GLASGOW King Tuts

27 MANCHESTER Club Academy

29 LONDON The Garage

30 BIRMINGHAM The Crossing


02 LEEDS Brudenell Social Club

03 BRISTOL Thekla

You can stream ‘Are My Friends Alright” on all platforms here and we’ll leave you with the video (filmed and directed by Joe Vozza and Jacob Welsh) below.


You May Also Like


Prime Video has debuted the official trailer for Daniel Benmayor‘s (Xtremo, Tracers, Bruc) eagerly awaited Spanish original sci-fi thriller Awareness starring Carlos Scholz (“Toy...


While most people like to reminisce about times of yore every Thursday with the weekly #ThrowbackThursday social media trend, we spend our Thursdays getting...

Box Office

RLJE Films and Shudder have dropped a red band trailer for Suitable Flesh, the latest shocker from the twister psyche of Joe Lynch’s (Point...

Box Office

Lionsgate has today released a second official trailer for the Hunger Games prequel The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes. Francis Lawrence (director of...